Review: Summer TBR Pile

Well, here we are on Review Wednesday, and I have to admit – I have nothing to write about. I didn’t read anything this month that would benefit from my review. I’ve been working so much on A Holiday Gift, hoping to have a draft ready for my critique partners soon enough that I can get the book out for this Christmas season (though we’ll see if my efforts lead to anything) that I haven’t been reading much of anything but writing craft books and my own roughly-drafted scenes. I did finally read Pet Sematary, but Stephen King hardly needs my seal of approval (although that book definitely gets it). 

What that means is that I have a sizable TBR pile. So this month, rather than review a book most of the world has already read, I’m sharing the top 5 books I hope to read by the end of the summer. Some are new, some older, but all are brand-new to me.

  1. Summer at Firefly Beach, Jenny Hale. June 2019.
    From itsjennyhale.com:
    A totally emotional, gripping page-turner from the bestselling author of The Summer House about the importance of family, re-discovering who you are, and the magic of finding true love under the summer sun. Perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Nancy Thayer and Susan Mallery.
  2. The Summer House, Jenny Hale. June 2017.
    From Publisher’s Weekly:
    “Hale’s rich and slow-building romance is enhanced by the allure of the North Carolina coast…North Carolina’s beautiful Outer Banks are the perfect setting for this sweet, poignant romance, and authentic characters and a riveting story make it a keeper worth savoring.”
  3. After You, Jojo Moyes. July 2016.
    From jojomoyes.com:
    How do you move on after losing the person you loved? How do you build a life worth living? 
  4. The Light We Lost, Jill Santopolo. May 2017.
    From jillsantopolo.com:
    Me Before You meets One Day in this passionate debut novel about an epic love story and the heartrending choice one woman must make.
  5. Summer Hours, Amy Mason Doan. June 2019.
    From amymasondoan.com:
    Commencement meets The Graduate in this sparkling novel about a secret affair, the summer it unravels, and the reunion a decade later that will be one woman’s happy ending or her biggest mistake.

Have you read any of these books? Do you want to? What books have you read so far this summer?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.