Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

In last month’s round-up post, I mentioned stumbling across this book in the Philadelphia Airport’s Hudson News. I didn’t get it then, because I was on my way to a tropical location and London in December, though never far from my daydreams, was not at the forefront of my mind. But when my plane touched down and I was back on cold, gray Philadelphia soil once again, I ordered my copy and could hardly wait to read it.

For once I was ahead of everyone else. Since I’ve finished it, Reese Witherspoon has chosen it for her book club, so it’s pretty popular right now. And for good reason. This is such a sweet, charming book – and it has everything a book needs for me to love it. London? Check. Christmas? Check. A will-they-or-won’t-they romance? Check. 

The opening scene was something that few, if anyone, will experience in real life – Laurie, on a bus on her way home one day in December, makes eye contact with a man on a bench. In that moment, she falls in love, but it will be a year before she sees him again. And when she does, her best friend Sarah introduces him as Sarah’s new boyfriend, Jack. Forced to put their own feelings aside for Sarah, who they both love, the book follows Laurie and Jack over the next ten years as they navigate their burgeoning friendship, respective romantic relationships, personal tragedies, and an attraction to each other that never really fades no matter how hard they try.

Fans of Love, Actually will love curling up in front of a crackling fire with a mug of steaming tea in one hand, this book in the other, and of course, a plate of fresh-baked Christmas cookies.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.